Try Something… Fail. Try Something Else…

Hello, there.  If you read my last fitness blog post, you’ll know that about two weeks ago I attempted to start going to the gym seven days a week, doing some form of cardio or actual weight lifting each day.  Having done that for one week, I can tell you that my life cannot sustain that schedule and thus have stopped.

What happened, exactly?  Well, that’s a funny one.

In order for me to go to the gym seven days a week, the weekdays mean that I have to normally go at 4:30 am.  On that Thursday, I was actively walking on the treadmill at the gym when I nodded off TWICE.  I finished out the week, went to the gym a single day last week, and have reevaluated my plans to get fit.

I am going to the gym four days per week.  I’ve completed two days, as of writing this, and because of my schedule, I’ve scheduled my four days in a way that are convenient.  I am at least going to the gym on a regular basis, though less often than I’d like.  On Sundays and Wednesdays I’ll be doing back, biceps, and some abdominal work.  On Mondays and Thursdays I’ll be doing chest, triceps, and forearm work.  That means Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays I’m “resting.”  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not inactive, I’m just not lifting.

Lifting helps you burn fat faster and better than doing other forms of exercise.  I’ll be doing cardio on my rest days, like running or some sort of aerobics, and that will keep the metabolism up while I’m not lifting.

Are you going to get up and do something?  That’s the most important step.

