Cooking Quinoa

I am still very new to quinoa, so I was very happy to run across this page today. I wanted to make “quinoa and cheese” (instead of mac and cheese) but I was wondering if I could cook it in the microwave instead of on the stove–as that part of the kitchen was already preoccupied with making dog treats (I have a dog treat business called Tricia’s Bakery).

So the microwave version that I used was very simple. I took a casserole dish and put in 2 cups of quinoa and 4 cups of water. I did just as the directions said and cooked it for 5 minutes on high, then 8 minutes at 60% power. At this point it was light and fluffy on top but there was still some water in the bottom of the casserole dish. I put the lid on and let it sit on the counter for about 10 minutes and all the water was absorbed.

I’ll post the quinoa and cheese recipe later!–for anyone reading this before I get it out.

cooking quinoa

