100% Whole Wheat Bread #2

This is THE recipe! My hopes are up really high after making one loaf of this. I baked a 2nd one tonight but it was just coming out of the oven when we had to leave the house so I haven’t cut into it yet.

The texture inside is so light and fluffy. That’s one thing I really miss with the homemade bread I’ve made in the past. I thought I might be doomed to buying my bread again, but I just need to be more patient and try some more recipes. Well, not anymore. (I only tried 3). You can see the texture difference below.

left: old bread. right: new bread

left: old bread. right: new bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 c warm water
  • 3 Tbsp milk (I’ve been using buttermilk)
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 c whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 2 T flax

I use a breadmaker for this, so according to its directions you put all the liquids in first (this includes coconut oil), then salt, flax, flour and the yeast on top. I hit the “wheat” setting and let it do it’s thing.

Unfortunately the first time I made this bread it was raised up into the glass of the door. What I ended up doing was putting some of the dough into a couple small bread pans and baking it in the oven. The second time I made this recipe I let my breadmaker do all the work through the “rise” cycle then put the bread in a 9×5 inch pan and baked it in the oven. So right now I need to cut down this recipe slightly to fit into my breadmaker.

whole wheat bread 2nd recipeThe original recipe can be found here.

Update 2/27/14: I haven’t frozen any of my bread yet, but a customer in my store today gave me some great tips! She said to freeze it as a whole loaf inside a ziplock bag, and wrap it in a paper towel or put a paper towel on the top and bottom of the loaf so that when it freezes/thaws the bread doesn’t get soggy. She says this same technique works with buns.

