Cheese Sauce

I was hungry for nachos the other night and was going to run to Taco Bell. The closer I got, the more thoughts I had on healthy substitutions. At first it was “I’ll get the nachos without sour cream and use greek yogurt at home.” Then it was “I’ll see if they’ll just put the toppings in a bowl and I’ll use my own multi grain chips at home.” Finally it was “We have some cheese sauce leftover from Super Bowl, now all I need is ground beef.” So when I got to Taco Bell I turned into the grocery store parking lot across the street instead.

I picked up some tomatoes, green onions and taco seasoning. Then I headed to the meat and decided to get both lean ground beef and ground turkey. I’ve never made ground turkey before and it was excellent! I don’t think I’ll ever crave Taco Bell again, but I will certainly crave these nachos.

nachosAnd here’s the recipe for the cheese sauce! The original can be found here.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 T butter
  • 1 1/2 T oil (I use safflower or canola)
  • 3 T flour (I use brown rice flour)
  • 2 c milk (I use unsweetened So Delicious coconut milk)
  • 1 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 c shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/2-1 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1/4 t mustard powder

Instructions

Use a large sauce pan and a whisk. Melt the butter then add the oil and milk. Bring the milk up to a boil and add the flour.

Reduce the heat and whisk the mixture until it thickens.

Turn the heat off, then add the salt, pepper and mustard powder and whisk in.

Add the cheddar and parmesan cheese and mix until the cheese sauce is smooth.

If the cheese sauce is too think I would recommend using more milk.

cheese sauce

cheese sauce on nachos Here’s another shot of my nacho topping. This was for breakfast today!

 

