Butter

This is a really easy “recipe”. Add a quart of heavy whipping cream to your stand mixer and turn it on! I’ve added pictures to show you the different stages the cream goes through.

Be sure to cover your mixer with a towel to prevent splashing all over your kitchen. I mix for the first 12 minutes on the 2nd to lowest setting then speed it up at the end for the last few minutes one more notch.

Butter!

Butter!

If you want to salt the butter, mix in about 3/4 tsp with your hands. You add about 1/4 tsp per 4 oz and I usually get 12-13 oz of butter from a quart of cream…

butter11

…and about 2 cups of buttermilk. I use the buttermilk in making yogurt or buns that call for milk/buttermilk.

butter13 butter12Then I cut the butter into 3 equal parts, shape it into sticks and wrap it in cabinet wax paper.

 

