Strawberry Freezer Jam

I remember my mom canning as a kid. We would be out in the garage with a camping-style stove and a big black pot full of jars. I think I was only part of this process because it was IN the garage–that’s where I spent most of my childhood (not the kitchen). So obviously I don’t know how to can, which is why Instant Pectin is the perfect product for me!

strawberry jam1

Actually I like it for a couple reasons. I like that I can make a small batch of jam at once, and again I love it because it doesn’t involve traditional canning. I like that it comes in a large container with multiple uses too.

Here’s the recipe, basically straight from the label of instant pectin.

Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cup strawberries (233 grams by weight)
  • 2/3 cup sugar (I use half Splenda and half cane sugar)
  • 2 Tbsp instant pectin

Directions:

  1. Crush the strawberries with a potato masher or use a food processor.
  2. Stir sugar and pectin in a bowl.
  3. Add fruit. Stir 3 minutes.
  4. Pour into a freezer jar and let stand 30 minutes.

strawberry jam2 strawberry jam3 strawberry jam4The label also includes instructions for other fruit like peaches, pears, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries and cherries. We just happen to love good old strawberry!

 

