100% Whole Wheat Bread

We’ve been buying the Sara Lee whole multi-grain bread for almost a year now. We love it, but it has HFCS in it. That’s what we’re trying to eliminate from our eating as often as possible–so now I decided to try making my own bread.

I’ve had a bread maker for 16 years. I’m pretty sure last night was the 3rd time I’ve used it. I’m so glad it turned out!

Ingredients

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 3/4 Tbsp instant yeast
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 3 Tbsp oil
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt

In my bread maker it says to put the liquids in first, so I put in the warm water, honey and oil. Next I sprinkle in the salt, then add the flour. The last thing I do is put in the yeast in a small well at the top of the flour. I set my bread maker to the whole wheat setting and let it go!

bread1 bread2 bread3The original recipe was discovered on An Oregon Cottage and she has a lot of amazing recipes! I want to try several other from her bread category in the future. The original recipe isn’t for a bread maker, so I basically cut it in half.

