Bon Bons

I grew up with these! Christmas is never complete unless there’s bon bons. I remember as a kid when my mom made these, she’d cool the pans of undipped bon bons in the basement pantry, and I’d spend some time each day sneaking a few 🙂

This year is a little different. While I still WANT my bon bons, I don’t want to eat some of the ingredients in the original recipe. The original includes a tub of vanilla frosting, graham cracker crumbs, and shortening to thin the chocolate coating. After I made the peanut butter greek yogurt frosting my mom said “why not use that instead?” That’s all the encouragement I needed to give this recipe a try, but healthier.

Here’s what you’ll need:

First you mix the frosting, butter, peanut butter and graham cracker crumbs together.

bon bons1bon bons2

Next you’ll roll these into balls. I use a small ice cream scoop to measure them out first. Set them on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper and let them cool. Here’s it’s well below freezing this time of year so these sometimes get set outside on the grill (to keep animals out) or in our entryway where it’s a walk in cooler 5 months a year. You can also put them in the fridge or freezer.

bon bons3Once they cool for 1-2 hours (or overnight even) you melt your chocolate and coconut oil together and dip them. I like to put my chocolate in a measuring cup inside a small crock pot to keep it warm. The original recipe held up enough to use a cake tester to dip them with. With this recipe, they’re a little softer so I ended up just throwing the ball into the chocolate, then I fish it out with a fork or spoon. Set them back on the wax paper and let them chill again.

bon bons4

The new recipe gives you the benefit of protein, fiber and whole grains. The creamy center melts in your mouth like a truffle!

