Roasted Sweet Potatoes

I’ve always loved potatoes, just not sweet potatoes. This recipe makes me love sweet potatoes now too! It’s really simple, you just need an hour to do the baking. That’s where we run into the problem–we want to eat a lot sooner than one hour after coming home from work. This is a weekend/day off recipe to us.

I’m not sure where the original recipe came from, my mom had given it to me. If anyone knows, I’d be happy to link back to it! I don’t think we’ve altered it at all, other than the fact that I might make more potatoes then the recipe calls for.

  • 3 sweet potatoes (I use 3 large ones, or 4-5 small potatoes), peeled and cut into bite size cubes
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • sea salt, to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut up the potatoes and put them in a baking dish (I usually use a 9×13″ cake pan). Pour the oil and butter over the potatoes, then sprinkle on the brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and sea salt. Mix it all up and bake for one hour. Stir 30 minutes into baking.

roasted sweet potatoes1 roasted sweet potatoes2 roasted sweet potatoes3 roasted sweet potatoes4

