Uncle Sam’s Chicken

DJ was watching football today and saw a commercial for BWW. He wanted chicken–but instead of asking if I wanted to go out, he asked if I would make some chicken strips! Instead of just making chicken, I decided to look for a recipe or method of coating them so they resemble a battered chicken strip.

I did what anyone would do–I turned to Pinterest! As I was looking at a bunch of pictures of cooked chicken, I saw a picture of Uncle Sam’s Cereal. I thought that was odd, but since we use this cereal in our Big Bowl I checked it out.

Here’s the original recipe for Uncle Sam’s Whole Grain Un-fried Chicken by Kelly Turner.

  • 1 c Uncle Sam cereal
  • 4 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 to 3/4 c almond or coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • chicken

I bet it would taste pretty good with lemon pepper seasoning or Parmesan cheese too! I put all the dry ingredients (the first four) into a ziplock bag and used a rolling pin to crush up the cereal. I tried my food processor first but it didn’t work very well.

uncle sams chicken1
Find a couple of shallow dishes and put the dry ingredients in one, the egg & milk in the other.uncle sams chicken2
 We had smaller pieces of chicken and coated eight. I had a whole lot of milk/egg left (I used 1 cup of milk), so I would recommend using less. Since this was my first time breading chicken like this, I also learned that you should thaw the chicken first! I had five pieces thawed, but then because I had so much breading left I wanted to coat three more pieces. I took them out of the freezer, and the milk froze to them and the breading didn’t stick.

uncle sams chicken3Bake at 380 degrees for 45 minutes. I would also recommend flipping them halfway through. I didn’t, and when I took the chicken out the top was dry and crispy (which I wanted) and the bottom was a little soggy, and the coating came off and stuck to the pan quite a bit.

uncle sams chicken4

