Black Bean Brownies

To see the original recipe, check it out on Chocolate-Covered Katie! Wow does she have a lot of great ideas!!)

When I went to my parent’s house one weekend we were talking about brownies. My mom was telling me about these brownies made with black beans that were recently brought to a church pot luck. Black beans?? That sounded crazy! So I did what I always do and went to Pinterest to look up “black bean desserts.”

The first recipe I ran across was from Chocolate-Covered Katie, and I immediately became a fan of hers in general. It’s pretty crazy to think that these brownies are gluten-free, and can also be dairy-free and vegan! Now everyone has a good dessert recipe to meet those requirements.

  • 1 15-oz can, drained and rinsed very well
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup quick oats, blended
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp sugar (I use cane sugar or coconut sugar)
  • 1/4 cup coconut or vegetable oil (I use Safflower or Canola)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup chocolate chips (Not optional. Omit at your own risk. I really like Enjoy Life chips.)
  • optional: more chips, for presentation

Use a food processor for best results.

Make sure you drain and rinse the black beans well before use. If you’ve never dumped out a can of black beans, you’ll understand why after you do! Add the liquid ingredients (maple syrup, oil & vanilla) and beans to the food processor and blend.

black bean brownies1

black bean brownies2

Next, add all the dry ingredients. I like to put my oats through a blender first before using them. Mix it all together.

black bean brownies3

black bean brownies4

Next add the chips. I like to use mini chips, my husband likes butterscotch. Today I used both. I mix the chips in with my food processor. You can also just mix them in by hand.

black bean brownies6

black bean brownies5

Spread the batter into an 8×8″ pan either lined with parchment paper or sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

black bean brownies7

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

black bean brownies8

black bean brownies9

They’re delicious alone, but you can also add the peanut butter Greek yogurt frosting!

greek yogurt frosting3

