Pecan Pie, and no HFCS

My husband has been on a pecan pie kick, and after finding out that corn syrup is in it I HAD to find an alternative and try making it myself. I’ve only ever made pumpkin pie, so trying a new pie was out of my comfort zone. Also, the pumpkin pie I make is crustless, so making something with a crust is also different from what I’m used to.

The recipe I made was Trisha Yearwood‘s. Click here for the original.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (I used coconut sugar)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick butter), melted
  • 2 tablespoons milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat flour)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • One 9-inch deep dish pie shell, unbaked, or homemade pastry (I wanted to make my own, but just bought some refrigerated dough)
  • 1 cup pecan halves

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, mix the brown sugar, granulated sugar and eggs until creamy.

2013-11-26 18.53.15

Add the chopped pecans, melted butter, milk, flour and vanilla extract and stir to combine.

2013-11-26 19.02.54

Pour the mixture into the pie shell.

Bake the pie for 55 minutes. Check for doneness by shaking the pan slightly. The pie should be firm with only a slight jiggle in the center. It will set more as it cools.

The taste was great, the texture was great. My pie crust seemed a little overdone. I set a few pecans on the top before baking it (the instructions say to cover it basically) and they sunk in. I also had a buffalo cut out of pie crust that I put on top and it almost sank to the bottom while baking. Why a buffalo? Because that was the first cookie cutter I found in my drawer.

I tried making some little tarts too, but they burnt. Here’s what the looked like before I baked them, at least. They would have been so cute!

2013-11-26 19.12.35

